Now Playing
Jazz Fusion A groovy way to start your Saturday!
Home

Archive: Assume The Position with David Randall (2016 highlights)


2016 Highlights

Bob Catley of Magnum

BOB CATLEY (Magnum)

Saturday 25 December, 22:00

On Christmas Day, David chats to Magnum’s Bob Catley about the new album ‘The Ballads’ released in January 2017.

Featured Artist

Mixcloud – Listen Again


Glenn Hughes

Sunday 30 October, 22:00 (Monday 31 October and 4 November, 22:00 repeat)

A double header interview special with GLENN HUGHES and SIMON KIRKE

In the first hour David chats to Glenn Hughes about his new album ‘Resonate’ and plays tracks.

Mixcloud – Listen Again

In the second hour David catches up with Simon Kirke on the last day of the Bad Company tour.

Mixcloud – Listen Again

Simon Kirke of Bad Company
Photo: Steve Goudie


Steve Rothery
Photo: Iain Scott/GRTR!

STEVE ROTHERY

Sunday 18 September 2016, 22:00 (Monday 19 and Friday 23,  22:00 repeat

Steve Rothery chats to David ahead of the release of Marillion’s new album, ‘FEAR’, including tracks from Steve’s solo albums.

Featured Artist

Mixcloud – Listen Again


Judie Tzuke

JUDIE TZUKE

Sunday 4 September 2016, 22:00 (Monday 5th and Friday 9th,  22:00 repeat

By way of an update, David Randall chats to Jude as part of his weekly show ‘Assume The Position’.

Featuring tracks from her ‘Songclub’ albums and two exclusive plays from her forthcoming studio album.

Featured Artist

Mixcloud (Parts 1 & 2) – Listen Again


Graeme Taylor

GRAEME TAYLOR (Gryphon)
Sunday 31 July, 18:00 (Thursday, 4 August 22:00
repeat

Founder member and guitarist Graeme Taylor chats about the medieval prog rockers who play more dates in August/September.

Mixcloud – Listen Again


Level 42

MARK KING (Level 42)

Sunday 24 July, 18:00 (Thursday, 28 July  22:00 repeat

David chats to the frontman and founder member of Level 42.  The band are on tour in the UK in October.

Featured Artist

Mixcloud – Listen Again


Dan Reed Network

DAN REED NETWORK

Sunday 29 May, 22:00 (Monday, Friday 22:00 repeat

In the first hour of his show, David chats to Dan Reed and plays tracks from the new Dan Reed Network album.

Featured Artist

Mixcloud – Listen Again


Panic Room

PANIC ROOM

Sunday 15 May, 22:00

In the first hour David previews the forthcoming “Panic Room Weekend” and current PledgeMusic campaign to finance the band’s first DVD.  He chats to the band’s vocalist Anne-Marie Helder.

Mixcloud – Listen Again


The Treatment

THE TREATMENT (Mitchel Emms)

David Randall chats to The Treatment frontman at the start of the band’s spring UK tour.

Mixcloud – Listen Again


Colin Blunstone

COLIN BLUNSTONE

Sunday 3 April, 18:00 Part 1 (Thursday 7 April, 22:00 repeat)
Sunday 10 April 18:00 Part 2 (Thursday 14 April, 22:00 
repeat

David Randall chats to Colin in a new feature which tracks the pop rock singer songwriter from earliest days with The Zombies.

Featuring his solo work, collaborations with Rod Argent and Alan Parsons, plus a selection of Colin’s favourite songs

Featured Artist

Mixcloud (Part 1 & 2) – Listen Again


Joe Lynn Turner

JOE LYNN TURNER

Monday 28 March,  22:00 Parts 1 & 2

David Randall chats to Joe Lynn Turner about his career including Rainbow, Yngwie Malmsteen and Deep Purple.

Featured Artist

Mixcloud (Parts 1-3) – Listen Again


George Martin

REMEMBERING GEORGE MARTIN

Sunday 13 March 2016, 22:00 (Monday 14 March and Friday 18 March , 22:00 repeat

A tribute to Sir George Martin who died recently.

Mixcloud – Listen Again


Andrew Roachford

ANDREW ROACHFORD

Sunday 6 March 2016, 18:00 (Thursday 10 March , 22:00 repeat

In “The Eclectic Mix” David chats to Andrew Roachford ahead of his UK tour dates, with tracks from the new album ‘Encore’.

Featured Artist

Mixcloud – Listen Again


Johnny Hates Jazz

JOHNNY HATES JAZZ

Sunday 28 February 2016, 22:00 (Monday 29 February and Friday 4 March, 22:00 repeat

In the first hour, David chats to Johnny Hates Jazz frontman Clark Datchler about the band on the eve of their UK tour dates.

Mixcloud – Listen Again


LINKS

Assume The Position Playlists 2016 (PDF, opens in separate tab)

January-March
April-June
July-September
October-December

Assume The Position Archive – Index
Assume The Position (Latest Shows)

David Randall bio

Share
Scroll Up